chess free

Chess Free

Participate and you will discover!
Quirky name, real hobbies
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
b123 ♡ 42 ( +1 | -1 )
Threefold repitition Hi,

Can someone tell me what excactly is threefold repitition? I thought it was only reached when both players played 3 times the same move after each other. But in my last drawn game ( see my past game history, for some reason i can't find the boardnumber anymore???) it was because it reached the same position on the board for the third time, but not after 3 sequential moves...

misato ♡ 187 ( +1 | -1 )
FIDE chess rules say: 5.4 The game may be drawn if the identical position is about to appear or has appeared on the chessboard three times.

This can bee seen when you hit "MORE OPTIONS" and then "FIDE chess rules".

You are absolutely right, the three times with the same positions doesn't need to follow consecutively. When the same position appears in move 47, 54 and 76 the game is drawn as well. Some additional remarks to that:

- a pawn move or a capture obiously avoid such a draw

- all "unvisible" attitudes in the repeated position must be identical, too, especially
- the same player must be to move next in all three positions
- if (example above) White could castle in move #47, but has lost this right until move 76 (because of a King's move) the positions are not identical
- if Black moves 50. - f7-f5 and this pawn can be captured by en-passant (but isn't) then 51. Kf1 Kf8 52. Kg1 Kg8 53. Kf1 Kf8 54. Kg1 Kg8 means only two identical positions (after moves #52 and #54) because after move #50 the unvisible attitude "move 51. g5xf6 e.p. is possible" has to be considered - this attitude is not part of the following two positions (after #52 and #54)

- it is not important which of the two white rooks is on which space in these three positions (the same applies for Black and other pieces)

In OTB chess a player has to claim the draw as soon as the position is about to appear the third time. He writes down the move which causes the three-fold-repetition (I think he may even do it), but does not operate the clock. Then he claims the draw. If the opponent wants, they now can check it AT ANOTHER BOARD while the claimer's time is still running. If he is correct, it's a draw, otherwise he has lost some minutes and the game continues.
I think at GK the (possible) claimer gets the chance to claim the draw after he has done this move. That should have been the case for your opponent, and then he simmply decided "YES".

dysfl ♡ 29 ( +1 | -1 )
By position, not sequence If the same position appears 3 times, regardless of the sequence, it will make a threefold repitition.

For example, you had a postion using a Queen checking the King from a1 and b1. The king was dancing from a7, b8, a7, b8, then a8, b7. The next time King moves to a7 will make the threefold repitition.
misato ♡ 58 ( +1 | -1 )
correction for GK After a look at your game I think that there is no choice whether to claim the draw or not. It was you (Black) who caused the identical position for the third time, and if you did not get the chance to decide it looks like the game is drawn automatically.

Nevertheless, be happy with the result. In my opinion the position was better for your oppponent, playing White I would have hid my King behind the rook so that one of the two pawns advances to a Queen. King and Queen and a pawn is better than King and rook and 4 pawns - still a hard job to win, but definitely no winning chance for Black!
b123 ♡ 11 ( +1 | -1 )
drawn Yes indeed misato. I got a message to claim the draw. And in that position i accepted it ofcourse. Thanks for the explanation!